6. Hatch Show Prints #105architecturalinspiration


When you see good design you know it immediately, Hatch Show Prints are good design. I have always loved old playbills but never spent time thinking about how they were created. That is until I visited Nashville and discovered for myself what you probably already knew before me. The Hatch family started printing handbills in 1875. The golden age of Hatch was from the mid-1920’s – 1952 and after several ownership changes now is considered a icon of letterpress printing. Letterpress printing is simply pressing paper onto wood and metal letters and hand-carved images, with ink in between. It is a process that revolutionized printing and made possible mass communication in the western hemisphere beginning in the middle 1400’s.

IMG_0097IMG_9949

From Bill Monroe and Elvis to the NCAA Women’s Final Four posters have been created with style and class. The unique subtleties of texture and color add power to the design. The classic form gives substance. One can certainly find power and inspiration in these lessons for the built environment.

IMG_0098

(My favorite Hatch Print has to be the one I got for attending the CSI Conference in 2013 in Nashville.)

IMG_0092

#105architecturalinspirations is a collection of architectural details, buildings, and spaces that inspire me. I am taking on the challenge of finding two projects to spotlight each week in 2015. Hopefully I will be able to keep up and this process of discovery will push me to create better design solutions for my clients as I research and learn more about those projects I enjoy most. I challenge you to add your comments below about this project and to post your own inspirations for all to enjoy. 

Full List of previous #105architecturalinspiration posts

1. Jefferson’s Academical Village

2. Charleston, South Carolina

3. Solar Decathlon

4. National Museum of the American Indian

5. Lighthouses

16 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

