19. Tarrytown Residence by Barley Pfeiffer Architecture #105architecturalinspiration


19. Tarrytown Residence by Barley Pfeiffer Architecture #105architecturalinspiration

I first met Peter Pfeiffer at a NAHB Green Building Convention. He was talking at the conference about green building for homes at a time that I was absorbing all the information I could find on the subject. He had designed his home to be very green with emphasis on function and comfort. It was great to find another architect taking the same approach to residential design as I was in my designs.

http://barleypfeiffer.com/projects/the-house-that-knute-built/
http://barleypfeiffer.com/projects/the-house-that-knute-built/

His home, Tarrytown Residence, used a variety of materials on the exterior to blend it with the local vernacular. The mixture of modern materials with traditional vernacular makes this home one of my favorite of all time.

http://barleypfeiffer.com/projects/the-house-that-knute-built/
http://barleypfeiffer.com/projects/the-house-that-knute-built/

He used straight forward technology to make the home healthy, energy-efficient, and durable. Simple large overhangs shade the windows. The pool helps lower energy bills. The rain water collection system is used to feed the irrigation system. Most important though is the design approach to make the home functional for how their family lives – one of the greenest design strategies that you can implement. Design Matters!

#105architecturalinspirations is a collection of architectural details, buildings, and spaces that inspire me. I am taking on the challenge of finding two projects to spotlight each week in 2015. Hopefully I will be able to keep up and this process of discovery will push me to create better design solutions for my clients as I research and learn more about those projects I enjoy most. I challenge you to add your comments below about this project and to post your own inspirations for all to enjoy. 

Full List of previous #105architecturalinspiration posts

1. Jefferson’s Academical Village

2. Charleston, South Carolina

3. Solar Decathlon

4. National Museum of the American Indian

5. Lighthouses

6. Hatch Show Prints

7. The Aqua Tower in Chicago

8. Chicago Theatre Marquee

9. Samuel Mockbee

10. Richard Meier

11. Notre Dame du Haut

12. Philip Merrill Environmental Center

13. Church of the Light

14. Magney House

15. Monticello

16. William McDonough

17. Delta Shelter

18. Solar Decathlon

3 Comments Add yours

  1. alanjgeary says:

    Charles, once again I agree with you and I like what you like. Further, I attest that Peter Pfeiffer has built a legacy of wonderful designs that are all creative, inspiring and energy efficient. I had the pleasure of being a classmate of Peter’s through all 5 years of architecture studies at RPI. Thanks for sharing the video of his home.
    – Alan Geary

    Like

Leave a Reply

